So while not in its final phases, I felt like my original idea wasn’t quite up to snuff. Deciding to shift focus, I began to read a book about Judo within CCAD’s Library. Very early on in the book, it brings up the mental aspect of martial arts, with it bringing up the subconscious nature of it.

postion004

This focus on the mental side of martial arts got me thinking about a way to represent these aspects, I so far have come to these two animation concepts.

The metronome has two meaning. It reflects the rhythm inherent to Martial Arts, as well as the concept of the pendulum, which utilizes one’s core and center of gravity to maximize effectiveness.

The water in the cup reflects the ideas behind this Bruce Lee interview, who despite his physicality was a genius in his philosophy.

Also I should note I’m a fan of trace back.

ed-edd-eddy-gifs-ed-edd-and-eddy-38914812-480-370

Leave a Reply

